300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jacksonville, NC

I will be moving to the Jacksonville area next month (wife is active military).

I sent my application in to Jacksonville PD and was called a week later and asked to test for them when I get in town. I am a former Mississippi cop and have a BA in CJ as well as hostage rescue school and basic counter sniper school. I already know I will need to go through their academy since my MS credentials expired a few years ago.

Since I am new to the area, can anyone tell me about the Jacksonville PD or any surrounding departments. It looks as if they have a SWAT team which would be nice to get into again and the pay isn't bad. I thought about New Bern as well but it looks as if it may be a little too far.

Any advice would be welcomed.
    Remember that our job is hearts and minds...two in the heart, one in the mind!

It's a good department overall, but they have high turnover partly because of some ridiculous city pay policies. Newer officers in some cases are hired at the same pay as those who have to train them. A friend of mine who works there told me that the city just got a few new city council members, so he hopes maybe things will change, but nobody is holding their breath. He said that the old city council wasn't concerned about the employees, but kept putting millions of dollars into recreation and consultants for different projects. The department is always understaffed, so you shouldn't have any problems getting hired. The BLET is about 3-4 months long. Watch the guy that runs the BLET program. Don't trust him. Take a look at Wilmington PD. That's a good department, too, and the pay is better.
    Last edited by Woofdog; 12-16-2007, 08:04 PM.
    Politically Correct? No.

Truthful? Yes!

Comment

Thanks for the info woof. I appreciate it.

Comment