300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• State of Policing in NC

Hi I’m 32 years old and looking to join a department in NC, especially the Raleigh/Charlotte areas. I have four years experience as a sworn and armed LEO for a small institutional police department in DC.

Im wondering if anyone here can give me the lay of the land in terms of what’s going on in the policing world here as well as what’s going on with various departments and what they are looking for in a candidate. Id be grateful if anyone could offer their expertise.

First look at pay, both starting pay and top pay. Charlotte and Raleigh both pay well for NC. There are departments near those cities that also pay well, at least for NC.

Second, look at the process to get from starting pay to top pay. I know Charlotte has a pay step system, that while not perfect, lays out pretty clearly the process to get to top pay. I would be leery of departments that did not have some kind of plan.

Retirement is pretty much set by the state. I am unaware of any departments that do not use NCLGERS for new hires.

Comment

Thanks for your response. I’ll be sure to check out NCLGERS. NC retirement looks labyrinthine to be sure. First glance it seems only a 5% 401K.

Looks like in NC you have pretty conservative outlooks in dress and uniforms, no or limited tattoos no beards, smart uniforms with low profile outer vests (if outer vests are permitted) but are more free when it comes to take home vehicles, less numerous punitive laws against police and things of that nature than the DC area, which is nice.

Comment

Retirement is much more than 401k. There is the pension, special separation allowance, and the 401k. There are several threads in the past few years discussing NC retirement.

Comment