300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hospital Police

I currently work as an armed security officer for a hospital in Tennessee. We make approximately $16/hr with shift differential and from what I've looked at online, that's about the average for the hospital company police officers in NC. I'm not sure what it's like in NC but it seems like we have more psych and drug overdose patients than we do regular patients.

Does anyone have personal knowledge about the company police hospital jobs in the larger cities in NC? Tennessee isn't ever going to get on board with the company police concept. Memphis and Knoxville hospitals are deputized by the sheriff's office but they're still on the $10/hour pay scale and there's no future in that.

From what I've found online, all of the NC hospitals I've looked at require you to have already graduated a NC academy. Are jobs plentiful enough that you stand a chance of landing one out there before your certification runs out? It's so ridiculous here in TN that you have hundreds of people competing for 1 opening most of the time.

http://jobview.usajobs.gov/GetJob.as...6+12%3a01%3a00

Not quite hospital police, almost same as being hospital security.
    GOD IS A NINJA WITH A SNIPER RIFLE, WAITING TO TAKE YOU OUT.

"For weapons training they told me to play DOOM"

Comment

I do not know of any hospitals in the Charlotte area that have police. Their security departments are not bad jobs, in fact the pay is competitive with or better than many rural areas or small towns. I think UNC Hospitals have their own police, distinct from UNC Chapel Hill, but not positive. I have seen job postings that I think specified UNC Hospitals. I have also heard of hospital police at some hospitals in small or midsized cities, but do not recall specifics.

Comment

Originally posted by jnhdrac View Post