300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question concerning NC BLET

Hello everyone. First thank you for the wealth of information I find on these threads, and to the experienced officers (and civilians) who take the time to provide this information.

My question is concerning your academies in NC, what are they like? I am a certified peace officer in GA, although my soon to be ex-wife and I moved to SC over a year ago (she was by far the main money maker in the family) and I am looking at what my next move will be since I am on my own. The academy I attended in GA was 3 months of hell, which I am very thankful for. I knew we were in trouble on that first morning when the bus dropped us off and the DI's got in our faces screaming, lined all 60 of us on a wall and made us run in place holding our gear while they conducted roll call, lol. They finally quit yelling the last two weeks, but it was highly stressful.

I am very thankful for that training and it made me a better officer, but I am trying to decide if starting over in a new state would be the best bet, I guess it's more of an issue of weighing my options, and "getting my mind right". I know here in S.C I only have to take 3 weeks of SC law. I am sure I will have to attend the entire academy in NC, and that is totally OK, I just don't know anything about how they are run. Any insight so I can make an informed decision would be a big help. Thank you all so much in advance.

I'm in BLET now and from what I hear (I could be wrong), if you have 2 years prior experience, you only have to take the classes that relate to NC Law and Procedures. I could be wrong...but I'm fairly certain you wouldn't have to go through a full academy or anything all over again. Unless it's been a while since you've worked as an Officer.

Comment