Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Veterans and NYPD Hiring

Good Evening All,

I'm 34 and currently serving in the military (Active Duty). I've been serving for almost 4 years and may be leaving within the next year or two to go into the reserves.

I'm particularly interested in studying at John Jay College of Criminal Justice and obtaining my BS/MPA from there.

In the mean time, I'm also interested in potentially working with the NYPD as a police officer.

I'd love to have some questions answered if any veterans who joined the NYPD could assist me.

1. I understand that you can use your GI Bill at the Academy, how does that work and what is the benefit? Is it any use to do that if we're trying to obtain our BS/MPA from John Jay?
    2. The NYPD Website says "Veterans can buy back three years of their military time to be applied to their NYPD retirement." What does that mean exactly? Does it only mean that we could retire three years early or does it also mean that we would get the benefits given to us of someone who has been an NYPD Police Officer for three years, including salary, paid leave, etc?
    3. How hard is it to study at John Jay and work for the NYPD at the same time? I understand that there'd be a lot of hours put into the Academy but I'm referring to afterwards.

Any assistance provided would be greatly appreciated.

I can't comment on point 1 but for point 2 it means that you can retire 3 years early. You don't start at a higher salary step or anything like that. As far as studying while on the job it's not easy but possible. You can work an overnight shift and leave for school in the morning, or do school in the morning before a 4x12 tour.

Comment