Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DC COP, Picking up Firearm from NY Gun Shop. Need some Insight

Hello all, had a question, I'm going to get straight to it:

So I'm a Cop here in DC, I'm a Maryland resident (live on the border of DC). Before I was hired and moved to Maryland for the job, I put my gun in storage in Long Island NY @ LI Outdoorsman. Every 6 months I had to pay 50 bucks for an additional 6 months of storage. I called them today to verify they would be open next week Weds, so that I could pick up my firearm, and they stated they would but that they WOULD NOT, be able to release my firearm to me ,even though I'm a cop. The bases for their answer was not really explained, but it was something regarding the fact that I'm not a cop in NY but in DC, and even though I have full credentials that they WERE REQUIRED BY LAW, to do a transfer to Maryland. I was instructed to contact a gunsmith in Maryland to get their information for a transfer, and as I explained the situation to a reputable gunsmith in MD he called BS, on LI Outdoorsman's End. He believed that they were just trying to squeeze some extra money out of me and stated I SHOULD be able to go and get my gun no problem.. So I'm asking from my NY brothers and sisters in blue whats the deal with this debacle, thanks.

You pose an interesting question. I believe the NY FFL is is covering himself. In NYS as a non-resident without a valid permit, you cannot possess that handgun. The dealer would have to ship it to a FFL in your home state. However, as an active Police Officer you are good to carry a concealed handgun in New York. What you can try is this: Get a boss to write on department letterhead that you are covered by 218 and that the handgun in question is one that you are certified to carry and is listed with the agency as a weapon you possess.. That might satisfy the NY FFL's concerns. Otherwise, I think you are stuck with the fee.

Comment

Originally posted by Dinosaur32 View Post