300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NYC Pistol Permit

I've asked around and have gotten too many different answers. I'm just curious to know whether anyone can answer accurately. I'm currently a NYS Corrections Officer and carry on my badge. Is there any chance of getting approved for a pistol permit for NYC if I apply for it? Or should I not even waste my money and just apply after I'm retired which I was told only than would I be approved for an unrestricted pistol permit...I currently live in the Bronx in the confines of the 49pct if that matters at all.

Originally posted by NyPd G View Post
    I've asked around and have gotten too many different answers. I'm just curious to know whether anyone can answer accurately. I'm currently a NYS Corrections Officer and carry on my badge. Is there any chance of getting approved for a pistol permit for NYC if I apply for it? Or should I not even waste my money and just apply after I'm retired which I was told only than would I be approved for an unrestricted pistol permit...I currently live in the Bronx in the confines of the 49pct if that matters at all.
    Correct me if Im wrong but why would you need a pistol permitvif you're still actively a leosa protected peace officer? Also it may depend on your agency whether or not you can work jobs that wants you to carry. Theres many jobs you can no longer do while employed as law enforcement.

Comment

Since you carry on your creds I doubt very much that NYPD will approve your app. Possibility of conflict with your job is not worth it to them. Wait until you retire then apply.

Comment

Originally posted by Dinosaur32 View Post
        Since you carry on your creds I doubt very much that NYPD will approve your app. Possibility of conflict with your job is not worth it to them. Wait until you retire then apply.
        Excellent advice,LT.

Comment

Originally posted by Dinosaur32 View Post