300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gi bill eligible rookie cops - read!

This is for any agency in the country, not just NY agencies, who are military vets
    and are entitled to GI Bill benefits. I'm going to focus on Post 9/11 GI Bill (Ch 33)
    for ACTIVE DUTY for this post, but it applies to all GI Bills.

Ok, for starters, congratulations on getting on the job after serving our country. As a veteran myself,
    I thank you for your service. Obviously, you have an honorable discharge, and you've served for at least 2
    years (for this post the numbers will be for those who've served 3 years). So you are entitled to
    Post 9/11 GI Bill. There are 2 types that you are eligible to receive.

- POST 9/11 For School (academy)
    - POST 9/11 For ON THE JOB Training (patrol)

The main difference between the 2, is that you will receive the maximum entitled benefit (60,70,80,100% etc)
    throughout your entire academy and a book stipend in the academy, but on the job training, tapers off 20% every 6 months.

So, with that said, Let's say you've just come into the NYPD July 14 Academy class and you are entitled to 100%. You're in your 3rd month in. Here's what you are entitled to:

BAH - $3744 a month plus $500 (6 months) book stipend

That's as of August. For July it's about $300 less.

Grand Total: OVER $20,000 tax free by graduation in December.

Someone in your academy class will walk you through all the steps and all the info will be spoon fed to you.
    After you follow all the simple instructions, you will received your first check of about $10k directly deposited
    into whatever checking account.

Now for the hard part:

GI Bill OTJ. Not as simple. It is, but it isn't. It will be for you now, because I've done all the legwork for you.
    When I first came in a couple years ago, the paperwork that all of the older classes did were outdated and I wasted
    a lot of time. But enough of that, here's what you need.