300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Difference between Peace Officer and Police Officer in NYS

Can anyone explain the difference between these two distinctions in NY?

Also, do either of these accept out of state certification instead of the academy?

Thanks in advance.

Minus out Department guidlines, functions, area and department etc.- this question is a mouthful.

Police Officer can write warrents and execute a Peace Officer can not execute warrents unless they are deputized through a Sheriffs office. Police Officer can lateral out of State Peace Officer's generally can't. There is more but I'm too lazy to type it up. I was a Peace Officer first and funny thing is the sh-- bag saw the badge and gun and never asked me which one I was.

Also the Academies are night and day. Trust me.

here you go:

http://ypdcrime.com/cpl/article2.htm
    jcioccke
    Forum Member
    Last edited by jcioccke; 09-18-2012, 09:12 PM. Reason: added link
    MDRDEP:

There are no stupid questions, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots.

Comment

Thanks.

I guess my main concern is if my out of state Police Officer certification will allow me to gain Peace Officer status in NY. And if I will have to go through the academy again.

Comment

where you coming from?
        MDRDEP:

Comment

I don't know but I would think it should but I can't figure out this State. What are you looking to do?
          MDRDEP:

Comment

Coming from Georgia. Potential Peace Officer position at a private college in the future.

Comment

Make sure that it's a University that allows you to cary. Some do some don't.

http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/
              MDRDEP:

Comment

Originally posted by jcioccke View Post
                Minus out Department guidlines, functions, area and department etc.- this question is a mouthful.