Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Living with an NYPD Salary

Hey everyone.

I am a massachusetts resident, and took test 8312 for NYPD. I don't anticipate getting into an academy for 1.5 - 2 years. But I am curious about how people get by living in NY city on only 40,000 salary? 25,000 is unthinkable to me.

But for someone potentially moving from mass, with no family in the city, what locations should I consider living in which I could afford. I am not opposed to roommates, other NYPD recruits would be preferable. Other than that, no roommates.

How is the cost of living including rent, food, etc etc. I would imagine cars are not really needed, what do you all do about that. The academy is located in Manhatten right? What is the easier ways to commute to manhatten from say Brooklyn, or whatever locations recruits tend to live?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by blue1stand9 View Post
    Hey everyone.

I am a massachusetts resident, and took test 8312 for NYPD. I don't anticipate getting into an academy for 1.5 - 2 years. But I am curious about how people get by living in NY city on only 40,000 salary? 25,000 is unthinkable to me.

But for someone potentially moving from mass, with no family in the city, what locations should I consider living in which I could afford. I am not opposed to roommates, other NYPD recruits would be preferable. Other than that, no roommates.

How is the cost of living including rent, food, etc etc. I would imagine cars are not really needed, what do you all do about that. The academy is located in Manhatten right? What is the easier ways to commute to manhatten from say Brooklyn, or whatever locations recruits tend to live?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.