300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applicant shortage? why?

I'm looking into relocating. I have been a cop in MO for about 4 years and I am looking to maybe go to NM or that area...like CO or NV or AZ. I keep reading that Santa Fe and APD are really hard up for officers. Why is that? Are they just getting gang banging criminals applying or what? I read that Santa Fe has 40 or so spots they can't fill....that doesn't seem like a lot to me. Are people just not interested in being cops?

I wish that I could help you out but I seem not to have that much if any answerers to why so less applicants apply out of the two cities that you mentioned Santa Fe is really hurting to find well qualified applicants whether lateral or cadet.
    Thank You & Stay Safe.

Comment

the only answer I can give is from what I have been told

Not alot of good qualified applicants and also the low pay.

I have also been told that since the state is very liberal that could be a big reason.

The only way to find out is to apply to a place in New Mexico and talk with some officers in those departments.

good luck in your choice

Comment

Thanks for the info guys. The way things are here, we have 20 plus applicants for every spot and most of them are well qualified. I just didnt want to spend the money to make the trips down there if there are 20 plus local boys/girls who are in line for my spot too. I was just curious why they couldn't find the people. I can give a million reasons why no one wants to be a cop, but I thought maybe they are looking for 10 years experience with a PHD in crime fighting or something....

Comment

Hey guys,

I am down in Alamogordo and going to start applying to agencies soon (About to get out of the AF) and was wondering how is the SFPD? Havent heard either way about it, anyone work there? Opinions?

Comment

Originally posted by Batman21 View Post
            Hey guys,