300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lateral to NM

First of all, can anyone explain why this page is so dead? The whole thread is only 3 pages long and it goes back to 2005, that is 15 years folks. Lol.

I have several years of LE experience. My family and I are moving to NM this year. My wife works from home as a Financial Advisor. She can live anywhere and she receives the same annual salary. So, making a lot of money is not a necessity but I do want to be somewhere with an awesome admin who will have your back and a dept with good camaraderie. I dont care if it a big city dept or a small rural sheriffs office. We do have a daughter who is about to be 4. So good schools would be great and preferably, not a high violent crime area.

How competitive is getting a job in NM as a lateral? Do you have 20 applicants for every opening?

Do most depts expedite the hiring process for laterals? IE: waive the written and PAT, you apply and go straight to backgrounds?

Regarding the retirement program...I am 39 years old. I see the retirement is a 25 year plan and you get 75% of your pay, I will be 60 in just over 20 years. Is there an exception where I can retire in 20 years with 75% as long as I am 60 years old with 20 years on or would I have to put in 25 no matter what?

Please feel free to leave suggestions. If your dept is solid and has openings and you would prefer to PM, please do that.

One last thing. Is NM under the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals?

Thanks in advance.

Stay safe

I think this page is dead because I believe there is (was?) only one NM cop on the forum. I say this with caution because I haven't seen him post in a long time. I believe he was with a rural SO.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Originally posted by MCSO-3420 View Post