300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military Experience

I am 21 years old and thinking about joining the army as a Cavalry Scout to get background and experience for a career in law enforcement. My ultimate goal in life is, and has always been, to become a Police Officer.

I graduated H.S. 3 years ago and I am currently working at the same job since I got out of school. I live on my own now, but other than a car payment, I do not have any other debt, and a fair-mid 600's credit score. I do not have any children, and I am single.

So my question is, since I am somewhat young and have little commitments, should I join the army, or go ahead and apply for entrance into a Police Academy?

I also wanted a good idea of how many current officers have military experience. And for the ones that don't, how hard was it to be hired by a department?

I know this desicion is entirely up to me, but any advice would be appreciated.

P.S. I live in St. Louis County
    Last edited by StreetPatrol626; 11-10-2009, 08:53 PM. Reason: Grammar Edit

I didn't read where you went to college, so I'm assuming you don't have any college. If you plan to work any where that pays decent you need either college or military. If you said you had went to college after high school I'd tell you to start applying now.

You have to ask yourself what have you been doing to get an advantage over the other 200 other applicants that will be applying for the same position as you. Having a steady job since high school is good but not good enough.

Good luck!

Comment