300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Helpful background comments; officers, please add to posting

Ok, I wanted to take an opportunity to address backgrounds on here, since this is a very common topic. Let me start by saying that I have been a cop for 4 years now myself and my resume/background had a few…..let’s say….hick-ups. My hick-ups in my background though, much to my amazement, caused me very little grief when I began applying for agencies. What I have learned, is that no one is perfect. There are a few agencies that I know of in the Twin Cities that have sometimes posted job announcements where it seems as though they are looking for a “flawless” candidate.

The truth of the matter is, that police departments realize that not all applicants are perfect. The biggest thing in submitting a background packet is honesty. Don’t ever think for one minute that you just can omit something, cross your fingers and hope the dept. doesn’t find out. This is 2007…there are many agencies which maintain an internal database of contact with people ranging being the complainant of a barking dog call to a verbal warning about speeding. When filling out the “police contacts” portion, take a few minutes of YOUR time and call all LE agencies in which you have ever had contact with whether it was a victim, suspect, witness or “other”. Make sure that you tell your backgrounder more than s/he will ever need to know.

Next, be honest about everything. If you got fired from a job, mention that. The time will come during the process where you will have the opportunity to explain the situation. I have seen more people get washed from backgrounds because they lie than I have seen get washed for the contents of their backgrounds.