300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intro

Hello I'm new to the this forum and the Officer.com thing. I'd like to say that being new to this field completely all of your insite is valuable to me. I'm going to be attending school in August for Law Enforcement, I don't know very much about the LE but it's interested me for a long time. Any Adivse would be wounderful.

My biggesst worry about this career is not being able to get a job. Is it difficult in MN? Even for a female??

Thanks and HELLO to EVERYONE!!!!
    Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. ~ Thomas Edison

Welcome,

Let me first say that I am not as of yet a law enforcement officer but I am currently in the last steps of getting a position and with any luck I should receive the position.

My only advice is do your best, never lie when you are being interviewed, stay out of trouble - which includes what friends you hang out with. I've seen a couple of canidates get burned because they are guilty by association. I know that isn't fair to those folks, but it's reality.

Additionally, if you are not a reserve officer or Community Service Officer - seriously consider applying for a position for your local agency. At the very least - go on some ride alongs with your local agency. Explain to them that you are going to be a student in L.E. and you want some experiance seeing what the officers/deputies do.

As for the job market - Becoming a L.E. officer in MN is tough - so chin up and don't give up finding a job, but since you are female you might have a better chance. Another thing is this......Apply EVERYWHERE in Minnesota that has a full time opening, including small town Minnesota. Almost all of the folks want to live and work in the Metro Area and your odds in getting a job drop like a rock because of so many canidates.

If you have any further questions - feel free to ask here or pm me.

Comment

Welcome Jess,