300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info Needed Please

I am looking for some info from some sworn LEO's in Minnesota. I am a sworn Officer in NJ and with the economy here the way it is my department is next on the chopping block for lay offs with me possibly being one of the many getting the ax. So I'm considering my options of going out of state. If anyone has any info on departments that are taking laterals from out of state I would greatly appreciate it. Also if you can tell me what you like and don't like about working in MN would be appreciated as well. Any info on retirement, pay, and benefits would be great also. Feel free to PM me if needed.

I can't answer your questions about the pay and being sworn in Minnesota but I can add a few things about the reciprocity for MN. I am a cop from Chicago and am currently in the hiring process in Minnesota. You have to pass the POST reciprocity exam which tests your understanding on MN law. After you pass that exam you are given a letter stating you are eligible to be licensed. Once you have that letter, I believe you can apply anywhere. If you have any questions on the reciprocity exam, send me a pm. As far as being a sworn LEO in Minnesota, I will let the other guys fill you in on that.

Comment

Thanks a lot for the info it seems like I need to read up on MN laws before attempting to get on the job in MN. Its a little weird because I figured the laws would be taught in the academy like it was here in NJ.

Comment

Check your in box.

Comment