300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Megabus drives fast!!!

Anyone here familiar with the "Megabus"? It offers fairly cheap bus rates on this double-decker to Madison and Chicago. Of course, I've heard the clientele are what you'd expect for a <$25 bus ticket. Apparently some of them are Chicagoans coming up to their "Minnesota address" to collect Minnesota welfare checks, yay government.

Anyway, that bus hauls! I've been passed many, many times by it, in three different vehicles, so it's not my speedometer showing me as going faster than I really am. I commute east on I-94 and today I saw it in my mirror so I locked my speed at 70 mph. I just wanted to see how fast he'd overtake me. Not more than a couple of minutes from when I spotted it, he went by me. I'd guess he was going around 73-75 mph or so, but I'm no expert.

Do buses like that have different rules allowing them to go a bit faster? I realize that may sound like a dumb question, but buses can drive on the shoulder and other things that your average motorist doesn't do, so I thought maybe they'd get a little extra speed as well?

Originally posted by Buck Eight
    I am no cop, but I can say for sure that they don't have any legal right to drive faster. I routinely see large trucks, some even hauling dangerous stuff, going 15-20 or more above the posted speeds.

On one hand, these truckers are professional drivers who get paid by the mile in most cases. So driving faster and putting more miles on the odometer and getting your load to it's destination faster is going to make you more money.

But, a semi truck with a 53 foot trailer going 75mph is WAY more dangerous IMO than a regular old sedan doing the same speed.

If I was a cop, I would struggle with this one. They are doing a hard job and are away from their families all the time, but there needs to be a line drawn some where.

Those mega-buses basically amount to mobile section 8 housing.