300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background Advice

I posted this several years back, but I think it's very appropriate today as well:

Ok, I wanted to take an opportunity to address backgrounds on here, since this is a very common topic. Let me start by saying that I have been a cop for 8 years now myself and my resume/background had a few…..let’s say….hick-ups. My hick-ups in my background though, much to my amazement, caused me very little grief when I began applying for agencies. What I have learned, is that no one is perfect. There are a few agencies that I know of in the Twin Cities that have sometimes posted job announcements where it seems as though they are looking for a “flawless” candidate.

The truth of the matter is that police departments realize that not all applicants are perfect. The biggest thing in submitting a background packet is honesty. Don’t ever think for one minute that you just can omit something, cross your fingers and hope the dept. doesn’t find out. This is 2010…almost all agencies maintain an internal database of contact with people ranging from being the complainant of a barking dog call to a verbal warning about speeding and most certainly when you are listed as an “arrestee” or “suspect”. When filling out the “police contacts” portion, take a few minutes of YOUR time and call all LE agencies in which you have ever had contact with whether it was a victim, suspect, witness or “other”. Make sure that you tell your backgrounder more than s/he will ever need to know. This shows your honesty, candor and tells the department a great deal about your character.