Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mass Vacation

MA LEOs,

Im traveling to MA in a couple months for a family vacation. I've been trying to research MA gun-laws for non-resident police officers. One site I found, goal.org, stated in reference to your Section 131G:

Police Exemption: Off –duty nonresident police officers are considered to have a permit in another state in compliance with the requirements of this section for an exempted person to have a permit in his own state, ONLY for the purpose listed in this section (i.e. competition, hunting, collecting). This exemption does not allow such officers to carry for personal protection. An exemption for nonresident officers in Massachusetts may carry if doing so in the performance of their duty under Chapter 41, section 98.

However, federal law (HR 218 - now called something else?) states, as a qualified police officer, I am exempt from state or local prohibitions on carrying a concealed weapon. However, I do not know to what degree.

So, long story short, can I carry (glock 19) concealed in MA while on vacation with my department issued photo ID? ISIS is out and about you know, cant be too careful...

Thanks.

Per the federal statute I don't see any issues.
    It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.

Comment

How was your vacation?
      It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.

Comment

Haven't gone yet...

Comment

HR218 overrides all local restrictions except magazine capacity laws. Get some 10 rounders for your Glock before you go.

Unlike the rest of the state, most Mass cops are very pro-gun and wouldn't be looking for any reason to pinch a fellow officer anyway, so if you follow the HR218 guidelines, you shouldn't have a problem.
          "If the police have to come get you, they're bringing an @$$ kicking with them!"
          -Chris Rock

Comment

Originally posted by GangGreen712 View Post