300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transporting A Firearm THROUGH Maryland

I am a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia and possess a valid concealed-carry permit. I am planning on going on a trip to Ohio and possibly up through part Michigan, but must pass through Maryland (unless I really want to go through the boondocks of Virginia & West Virginia). I understand that MD is one of the most anti-2nd Amendment states in the entire nation and want to avoid trouble at all costs. I am aware that open-carry is not allowed and that they do not recognize or reciprocate with Virginia when it comes to gun permits.

Am I going to be totally within my LEGAL rights if I have a firearm in the TRUNK of my car (and out of plain sight) and merely drive through your state (probably without stopping or perhaps just for food/fuel)? I am not worried too much about Ohio, West Virginia or even Michigan; but MD is cause for concern.

In those states (which apparently recognize my VA carry permit), I would likely have the firearm holstered, but nearby and within my 'wingspan'. I am a law-abiding citizen and wish to stay that way.

THANKS, Maryland law enforcement officers, for any insight you might have on this issue. I promise to just 'pass through' peacefully. :-)

The comments above reflect my personal opinion as a private citizen, ordinary motorist and all-around good guy.

The aforementioned advice should not be construed to represent any type of professional opinion, legal counsel or other type of instruction with regard to traffic laws, judicial proceedings or official agency policy.

------------------------------------------------

"Ignorance on fire is hotter than knowledge on ice."

Technically, you would need to be able to demonstrate that you were enroute to a gun range, gunsmith, your place of business, and so forth. Of course, most people have no way to demonstrate where they intended to go.