300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Concealed carry permit in MD

I am a DC officer, who is looking to carry a personal weapon off duty while in Maryland and I am looking for some guidance. I looked at the forms on MSP's website and was hoping somebody on here has been through the process and will give me some tips. I know alot of people will try to cite H.R.218 saying I do not need a carrying permit, but I want to have all my ducks in a row in case I have an incident.

When reviewing the application it has boxes for corrections, private security, and retired leos. But nothing about out of state officers. It also says you need to prove previous threats with police reports. Is there a way I can go through the process without having previous threats against me?

Thanks
    Last edited by BatistaZ28; 09-04-2008, 02:02 AM. Reason: New thoughts

Man good luck. CCW permit in maryland takes an act of congress.
    Don't tase me bro!!

Comment

Who's going to apprehend a fellow LEO for carrying concealed? Would you do it?

Comment

I thought the LEOSA covers an LEO for carrying concealed w/o a permit off duty? Or is that just in their jurisdiction/state?

Comment

Being in DC can be a bit tricky. Are you a federal police officer or a DC police officer?

If you are a full time police officer with arrest powers who usually in their course of duty is required to carry a firearm HR 218 should cover you as long as your department/agency allows you to carry off duty. Plain and simple. I know there is a thread going on in here which might have you worried but there are several issues in that particule case like drinking that more then likely voided his HR 218 rights.

If you have any doubt's I'd contact your departments legal section and firearms training section regarding the bill. If your legal section says you are okay then just ask for some kind of paper in writing regarding the departments policy.