300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to start a LE Career

First post here but been reading a lot of good info on the forums. Thanks in advance for your advice

Here's a little background info about me. Athletic build in descent shape 24 yrs old. I graduated Southeastern with a bachelors degree in psychology. While attending I began working in sales as the hours were flexible and the income was good. Fast forward to now I am an insurance agent at a respectable company making a good income with the future to earn more. However, this isn't where my heart is. I've always wanted to work in law enforcement and either allowed others to talk me out of it or worried I wouldn't earn enough income.
    Now, I am to the point that I wish to pursue a career in law enforcement. I feel its what I'm meant to do and I get excited anytime I think about it or see a patrol car. I've talked to the deputy chief of my parish and he gave an honest response and advised me that the career would be better worked in another parish than here due to low budget in the parish.
    So I'm posting here to seek advice and counsel from your experience. What can I do to better myself and increase my chances of hire? Looking to start in or around livingston/baton rouge/ascension areas.
    Last edited by logan_searching; 05-15-2014, 11:25 AM.