300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Correct way to handle.

Okay, heres the question: If a school recieves a bomb threat what would be the proper way to handle this situation. Keep in mind I am only a Criminal Justice student, but my first thought would be to evacuate all students, until all clear. Contact parents. Yesterday at my sons school, they recieved a bomb threat on their answering service at around 7:10. Instead of evacuating, they went into lockdown. Bomb squad was called and the bomb smelling dogs. Nothing was found. Parents were notified by letter at the end of day. This just seems like it was not the correct way to handle it. Upon reading this letter, I started thinking about what if. Scary! Do you think this was a proper way to handle it?
    "Understand that there is nothing morally superior about being a sheepdog; it is just what you choose to be.But if you want to be a sheepdog and walk the warrior’s path, then you must make a conscious and moral decision every day to dedicate, equip and prepare yourself to thrive in that toxic, corrosive moment when the wolf comes knocking at the door.-On Sheep, Wolves and Sheepdogs
    (From the book, On Combat, by Lt. Col. Dave Grossman)

I think that every agency may handle things differently and has their own SOP, therefore you may not get the answer you are looking for.
    "Its not what you know, its what you can prove."-Training Day

"Game on, bitches. Whoop whoop, flash the lights, pull it over."

Comment

Unfortunately, making the protocols for handling bomb threats public only helps those who might actually plant a bomb.

The best I can offer is that how bomb threats are handled depends on the unique circumstances of each threat and that in many cases, evacuation is not always the safest move.
      Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment