300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resigned

Here I set with a few bud lights in and I am thinking about my decision. I just resigned my position today and God what a tough call. I have lived here most of my life but I moved away for college. This was an extended trip and so much happened that I honestly believe I CHANGED. I think that I can not go back to my home. I have been a police officer for over 4 and had the unique opportunity to patrol the streets in my hometown. However after much deliberation I believe that my best interest is to move on and become a part of another community. This is a difficult decision and God knows that I have wrestled with this. My family lives here and I have friends that I have known since I was 5 years old. However I believe this is the best choice for my family. (Me and me Wife) I know that I will never advance much farther if I stay and that is not acceptable. I meet with my Sheriff today and gave the final word that I was moving on. However I need support in that a made the right decision. I am going to a great department in the state but feel uneasy in my decision.
    I believe that I am a good police officer but the political **** became too much to bear. I am from a small community of 30000 but we stay so busy due to the drug problem. I guess I just need support and belief that I am going to a larger department and that you can establish a new HOME after so many years. For a bet of info Wife is OK here but wants to go home(her home) and all I want is to be a COP. I am so tired of politics but hope this is a small department issue instead of law enforcement in general. (10 Officers) I am not young enough to change to many more times and hope this is HOME. However I thought that was the case when I bought this place. Sorry for the drunk ramble but I just need to know that I will be ok.

When Do You Start?
    Last edited by towncop; 05-08-2007, 06:47 AM. Reason: Edited to protect the innocent!