300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conflicting answers-color vision

I understand this is a common theme on this forum, but I keep getting conflicting answers regarding ILEA/IMPD.

I have a degree in CJ and have worked as an Auxiliary Officer. While an intern and auxiliary officer, I have not once had an issue identifying colors on the road or in any other situation. To make a long story short, I was going to go through a cert academy in Michigan but during my MCOLES medical, I found out I am color impaired??? Failed the dot test and the D-15 test (barely).

Anyways, I have been getting conflicted answers regarding how things work in Indiana. A few people told me that color vision was a departmental requirement and somebody quite emphatically told me it was a state thing. I called IMPD to try to get an answer and got put on hold and was on hold for 30 minutes before I hung up.

Anybody know?

Thanks in advance and stay safe out there!
    Stay safe out there

"Cancel that central, its a moose"

been there, done that. PM sent

Comment

I'll check with the IMPD academy staff and get back to you.

Retired Lawdawg & Proud IMPD Papa!

"Justice is the one thing you should always find"
      Toby Keith

Comment

I am a sworn officer with IMPD. I fail the dot test for red, and have since I was a kid, and did so during the medical for hiring. They gave me a different test that I was able to pass. So, at least a certain level of color blindness is acceptable.
        I miss you, Dave.
        http://www.odmp.org/officer/20669-of...david-s.-moore

Comment

Thanks everybody!
          Stay safe out there

Comment

Originally posted by CruiserClass View Post
            I am a sworn officer with IMPD. I fail the dot test for red, and have since I was a kid, and did so during the medical for hiring. They gave me a different test that I was able to pass. So, at least a certain level of color blindness is acceptable.