300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few CPD hiring questions...

I am currently an LE college student in Minneapolis, I will be done in about a year and a half or so. I have been looking at larger police departments throughout the midwest, including here, the MPD. I've also looked at Milwaulkee and Chicago. The CPD really interest me though because of its size and location. I've already spent a good couple of hours combined these last few nights looking through these forums and Real Police forums trying to find answers to some of my questions on the CPD. I've found alot of info, but there are still a few quesitons I would like to be aswered if there are any current CPD LEOs out there that could help or anybody with any knowledge of the CPD hiring process at all.

1.) First off, the BI home interview, do I have to live IN Chicago or the surrounding area to have this home interview conducted? It seems that would be the case, but then how do people out of state get this to work for them? Do I need to live in or around Chicago just to even try to get hired?

2.) College credit requirements: like I said, I am currently taking an LE program at a local community college here in Minneapolis and will be going through the Minnesota Skills program soon, but my question is, because the CPD hiring process is about 1 1/2 to 2 years or more, when is it required to show I have 60 semester credits? Can I apply while I'm still in college, or do I have to wait until after I am completly done?

3.) Does anyone have any experience applying to CPD out of state, and how many trips can I expect to have to make to Chicago from start to finish, if I were to make it that far? Does the test have to be done in Chicago?