300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tac Units: Can they pull you over?

In Chicago, can a Tac unit (in an unmarked vehicle) pull you over for a traffic violation? I've always heard that it's against the rules for tac/unmarked units mainly because it's not hard for a civilian to dress their Crown Vic with strobes, lights & sirens and run some impersonation scheme. I've been pulled over and consented to searches when they would tell me they pulled me over for not using my turn signal. My brother (who wants to be in CPD) and I always argue this back and forth; me saying they can't and him saying they can (with his basis being they can do anything a marked beat car can do).

I got pulled over yesterday by a tac unit 'cause they claimed my brake light didn't work. They told me to get out and observe how my brake light didn't light up while his partner (allegedly) pressed the brake pedal. After they found out I'm an electrical engineer and went to one of the top high schools in the state (even tested me with former teacher names) guess they figured I wasn't up to anything. But that whole ordeal brought my original question up about whether they can pull you over for stuff like that. I think I was in 023 when it happened (was heading to 020).

Not that it really makes any difference but if a Tac unit pulls you over because they think you're suspicious, why don't they just say that, instead of making up stories about how something doesn't work or 'why does this car come back stolen', etc.? I have much love for cops but when a cop lies to me...makes me wonder.
    Last edited by Area3Citizen; 10-05-2007, 11:30 AM.

Originally posted by 460.475_1617 View Post