Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PTI Format Questions.

Hello,

I'm just curious if any LEO's that have recently been through PTI could tell me what the format is like? Do you run in the morning then have class? What is the worst/best part of PTI?

I graduated in 3/2007. When I went there morning pt was 550 to 630 Monday through Friday. Pt would be 10 minutes of stretching, 30 mins of long slow distance running followed by a 10 minute cool down. Class is 800 to 1200, break from 1200 to 1300, then class from 1300 to 1700. On average at least one night a week you will have class from 1800 to 2200. Depending on what electives you are signed up for you may have to stay later. My opinions on the program are mixed. I will say they need to get some logistical things together. They usually will have more students than available apartments thus making some students live in a hotel 5 miles away in Urbana (and a crummy motel at that) for 12 weeks. With the travel between venues it gets stressful. Also if you are at a hotel and you elect to be the driver you will have 4 sweaty recruits riding in your car 5 times a week. Also on the days you go to the airport for training you may not have a chance to shower. If possible see if your department will allow you to use a department vehicle.
    Other than that, they have world class instructors. You will be over prepared to do the job when you graduate. They did lose one of the best police firearms instructors in Steven "U damn right I'll shoot him" Douglass who passed away over the last month (Bless his soul). Otherwise it is a good old time. The program itself is relatively easy.
    My worst day as a police officer is a million times better than the best day on any other job!

RIP Joseph Bokholdt 2-14-1983 to 5-27-2008.

Comment

I believe Mr. Douglas' famous quote when I was there was " I'll bury ya in the berm."