300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illinois State Police Questions???

Any ISP Troopers out there that can answer some questions???

What questions?
    183 FBINA

Comment

Fire away and I will answer what I can.

Comment

Questions???

Any rumors of another "fast track" academy for those with prior law enforcement experience? What retirement options are there? What are the chances I would get a district of choice if I got hired? And how's morale? I have been a police officer for 9 years and have contemplated the idea of coming back to Illinois...would love to work for, what I hear, is still a great agency!!! If anyone feels more comfortable sending me a private message, please feel free.

Thanks and Stay Safe,

Midwest 5-0

Comment

Any rumors of another "fast track" academy for those with prior law enforcement experience?
          Last time I talked to the academy cmdr, about a month ago, no chance for a fast track, none planned, and not being discussed.
          What retirement options are there?
          Retire at 80% after 26 yrs 8 mo. With accumulated sick time you can knock off another 10 months or so and leave earlier. At retirement you get paid for unused vacation/holiday time and 1/2 unused sick time (sick time is 60 days a yr plus 1 day a month accumulated). That payout check can be almost 1 yr salary lump sum. Mandatory retirement at age 60. Under the current contract a 25 yr Troop, with no OT, base salary is $95K+. Add minimal OT to that and a 25 yr Troop retiring this year would have an $80K+ retirement, free medical for life, and every yr after retirement starting at age 55 is a 3% COLA raise. Insurance on my wife, which is an HMO with $15 co-pay on meds and $100 co-pay on hospital, costs me $78/mo and free for me. When you retire you usually end up clearing equal to if not more than you were clearing when working because you don't have the deductions. No state income tax on retirement.