300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student Internships

I'm a student at ISU and I was wondering if anyone here knows of any student internship positions available for police departments in the Chicagoland area. Thank you for the help

Hi,
    I was fortunate enough to participate in two police internships while attending college.
    I did my first one with Elmwood Park, and my second one with Berwyn.
    Loved both of them.
    "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." Philippians 4:13

Comment

Originally posted by GoZombie View Post
      Hi,
      I was fortunate enough to participate in two police internships while attending college.
      I did my first one with Elmwood Park, and my second one with Berwyn.
      Loved both of them.
      Thanks for the response, can I ask what they had you do? also would you know if they have any available this summer?

Comment

Originally posted by Ceelo_Green View Post
        I'm a student at ISU and I was wondering if anyone here knows of any student internship positions available for police departments in the Chicagoland area. Thank you for the help
        Illinois state police offers internships that count toward credit hours if you are pursuing a CJ degree.

Comment

I rotated and spent time in every department within the Police Department: investigations, patrol, tac, front office, dispatch, and junevile.

I just shadowed and observed their roles and functions. I enjoyed both!

I dont believe Elmwood Park offers internships every summer; however, I believe Berwyn does.

It may sound like a hassle, but what I did was I literally contacted about 25 different police departments and asked if they were offering summer internships. A lot of them said no, but a couple of them said yes!

If I were you, I'd begin to call multiple police departments that you're interested in, and see if they offer a summer internship program.