Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Took the CPD test, what are my chances?

I took it back on November 5th. It's too soon to expect any test results from the timelines I've been reading. Stupid me now knows that I should've applied in 2004 or last February before I graduated from college.

A little history about myself:

27 years old.

BA's in Criminal Justice and Psychology from UIC.

3+ years of work experience in private investigations & security.

6 years martial arts experience.

Basic pistol instructor credentials from the NRA.

Native Cantonese speaker.

The reason why I applied for CPD is because I would love to work in the city. As a PI, I work in the city quite frequently and I love it. I've worked anywhere from the Gold Coast, to Chinatown, to Marquette Park. I love the large size and the diversity of the city. I also believe that I could be a great asset to the Chinese community as a native Cantonese speaker.

I can easily pass the power test. I can cover the 1.5 mile run in 12 minutes without that much training but I expect to lower that time with some training. I can do the situps and bench press easily.

Why do I want to leave the PI field? Honestly, it's quite boring. Sitting in my car by myself for anywhere from 2-14 hours isn't my idea of fun. I don't get to interact with many people as I work by myself most of the time. And it's not very steady. I could work 80 hours one week and then 10 the next. Plus, I don't think I'm using my education to it's full extent as a PI. My buddy works for CPD and absolutely loves it. I think I'll love it too.

So what are my chances of getting onto CPD?

I'd say your chances are great! The challenge will be to wait it out. There's a few thousand in line in front of you.