300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LEOSA/Concealed carry in Chicago

Looking for a little local guidance on the LEOSA as well as IL state and local (Chicago/Cook County) regulations on carrying a concealed handgun.

From researching the sources mentioned below, I came to the understanding that I may legally carry a concealed handgun in Chicago under the authority of the LEOSA. However, the LEOSA does not provide an exception for concealed carry in places prohibited by local laws/ordinances, i.e. in parks, and on public modes of transportation such as busses and trains.

Is this interpretation correct?

In Texas, an LEO may enjoy several exemptions with respect to places that concealed carry is otherwise prohibited by non-LEO's. Does Chicago and/or Illinois have similar legislation that I am not aware of?

I am an active peace officer in Texas and I plan on traveling to Chicago to visit family and friends more often. I am seldom without a sidearm when I am off duty and/or traveling and would hate to place myself in an awkward position.

I have read over the LEOSA, IL Firearm Concealed Carry Act, Article 24 of the IL Criminal Code, and Title 8 of the Municipal Code of Chicago. I also searched over many threads but did not find information that quite addressed my question.

http://forums.officer.com/t150784/#post2435325

IL had it's LEOSA program up and running long before most states including Texas. Many states used IL's program as a model for their states.
    Last year a law went into effect removing home rule gun laws from all cities. State law prevails throughout the state.