Collapse

Leaderboard Tablet

Collapse

Leaderboard Mobile

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Out of state Indiana Officer with questions on transfering to Illinois.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Out of state Indiana Officer with questions on transfering to Illinois.

Hello everyone. Here is my situation. I may have to move to Chicago because my wife has some family issues there that need addressed. I'm a certified Police Officer here in Indiana and have been full time since 2007 with the same dept. I'm an instructor and have some good training. I'm 35, turning 36 at the end of the year. What are my chances of getting on in the west suburbs of Illinois or around that area either north or south? Some questions would be about laterals, retirement age (Indiana cut off is 36). I'm not going to the academy again, or don't really want to. Do they hire people like me, or is it a young man's game? I have not had to really worry about finding a job and would like to find out a little more before I start really applying anywhere.
    Last edited by Soxfan7987; 10-24-2013, 02:49 AM.

Originally posted by Soxfan7987 View Post
    Hello everyone. Here is my situation. I may have to move to Chicago because my wife has some family issues there that need addressed. I'm a certified Police Officer here in Indiana and have been full time since 2007 with the same dept. I'm an instructor and have some good training. I'm 35, turning 36 at the end of the year. What are my chances of getting on in the west suburbs of Illinois or around that area either north or south? Some questions would be about laterals, retirement age (Indiana cut off is 36). I'm not going to the academy again, or don't really want to. Do they hire people like me, or is it a young man's game? I have not had to really worry about finding a job and would like to find out a little more before I start really applying anywhere.