Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Telecommunicator Positions

Hello everyone,

Recently, I have decided to start applying for telecommunicator/radio dispatch positions in Northern Illinois. So far, I am in the beginning stages of the application process for four agencies. I am hoping for some feedback from people who have gone through the process. I hope someone can answer my questions, they're pretty basic, but I'm a newbie at applying for positions in a LE related field so any input would be appreciated. Here are my questions:

1. What is the testing like for these types of positions? I know that typing is a main component and I am ready for that, but what other skills are important and tested for?
    2. How many departments/dispatch positions did you apply for before you were hired? I realize that every position is different and some are more desirable than others, but would you say competition is fierce for these positions?
    3. Can anyone tell me what the eye exam is like? I understand that no one here is a doctor, but I'm wondering if the departments you are familiar with gave a full eye exam or if they gave a basic visual acuity exam (where you look at letters and numbers on a chart and read them off)? The reason I ask is because due to a congenital defect, my vision in one eye is poor and cannot be helped. However, if testing is done with both eyes together this shouldn't be a problem since I have 20/20 vision in one eye. (I am fine to look at computers and small letters and numbers on a screen in a dark room.)