300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chicago PD

So I have learned from this board that they are currently on a hiring freeze? Is that correct? Does anyone know once the new year starts if they are going to start hiring again? Any CPD officers that can tell me about the department? Do they offer the 20 year and out gig?

I have been a cop for about 11+ years, mainly in small rural areas in Wisconsin. I am getting really bored with the type of work I deal with on a daily basis and I dont have no room for advancement. I need more action packed work so I have been looking at bigger departments. We have little to no action in our area and its making me unmotivated and I am getting really complacent (thats my fault, I know). My wife would love to move to Chicago. Any input on CPD appreciated. My goal is to become a detective/investigator someday.

The last test was Nov 2006 and no one has a clue when the next test will be. A lot of us heard rumors earlier in the year about a possible test in Nov 2008 and others thought there might be a test in Early 2009, but that was before the mayor released the budget and said that they only have the money for 200 new hires. Those 200 will come from the 2006 exams. The CPD is short handed, however Mayor Daley feels that funding the Olympics in 2016 is more important than hiring police.

For a 75% pension I believe you have to work 29 years and 1 day. You can leave at 20 years but I believe you will only get 50%.

Best of luck and im sure others will jump in with more info!

Comment

From what I've read, those 200 hires for 2009 should just about take care of the rest of the February 2006 testers. After that, you have the June, August and then November testers.

Take me for instance, I'm a November tester and I definitely wouldn't get hired in 2009, late 2011 or even 2012 is more of the reality.