Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Residency for City Workers

I have a thought about the residency requirement let me run it by you guys:

I used to be a Zoning inspector for the City of Indianapolis and when I got hired with the City of Chicago I looked into what the official language was for the residency requirement. Because I hate living in the city I took the job because of what I can gain later in life. All it says is that you have to be a resident but what does that mean exactly? It is very vauge

Websters says that a resident is living in a place for some length of time

For example: Why cant I rent a room in the city and live in Indiana? Or a suburb? The city does not clearly define what a resident is. How long do I need to live there how many days a week? Do I need to have my car registered there? I don't think so. If all I can afford is a private room in the city who is the city to say that I must have an apartment or a home?

In my job the city had to go outside the city to find qualified workers and alot of us were from out of state. So we have out of state plates and cellphone numbers so does that mean we are not a resident? No it does not this is America and we should be able to live where we want to live.

I think that people get "caught" because they brag and talk about it and that tells the IG that hmm we need to look at this guy.

I am doing some serious research on this subject because I think that the city needs to define better what they mean.

Thoughts??????????

More research

This is an exert from the Indianapolis Municipal code and as you can see it is clearly defined:

Sec. 291-112. Employee residence requirement.