300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info Needed Please

I am looking for some info from some sworn LEO's in HI. I am a sworn Officer in NJ and with the economy here the way it is my department is next on the chopping block for lay offs with me possibly being one of the many getting the ax. So I'm considering my options of going out of state. If anyone has any info on departments that are taking laterals from out of state I would greatly appreciate it. Also if you can tell me what you like and don't like about working in HI would be appreciated as well. Any info on retirement, pay, and benefits would be great also. Feel free to PM me if needed.

I don't think any of the Police Departments in Hawaii accept out of state laterals and I know for a fact Honolulu Police Department does not nor does Hawaii Sheriffs Department.
    Retirement: I only have 3 years on, and not that informed.
    Pay: is ok compared to most other departments on the mainland U.S. however is considered low when compared to Hawaii's Cost of Living. There is lots of special duty assignments over here on Oahu for supplementing income.
    Benefits: I pay a arm and a leg for my medical and it doesn't look like it will be getting better anytime soon.
    Hope this answers some of your questions.

Aloha.

Comment

Thanks for the info brother I don't think I'm up for going through another academy but definitely appreciate the info. Be safe.

Comment

Glock, you are better off staying on the Mainland. Keep your head up and don't give up on NJ yet. The pay, bene's, and pension are hard to give up. I lived on Oahu for two years in the service. It was nice to be able to go the beach when you want to, but the cost of living was ridiculous and the locals don't take too kindly to us Haole's.
        " The Beatings will continue until Morale Improves "

Comment