300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cobb Sheriff Vs. Cobb Police

I was wondering if anyone has experience with the cobb sheriff or the cobb police department and which one they prefer to work for. I am wondering which department would be easier to progress in as far as rankings and specialized areas of the department. I have also heard that sheriff end up making about 20K more than the police department starting out with over time and such. Any advise would be great.

I have no direct experience, but I would imagine it depends on what work environment you prefer to work in...

Comment

rapax?????
      Perseverate In Pugna

Comment

Just like with most metro counties, each department has its role. If you want to work in the jail as a detention officer, wait to go to mandate (sometimes months or even years), potentially go back to the jail before getting into courthouse, apprehension, etc, then the SO is the way to go. It may sound like I'm knocking this route, but I'm not trying to; it just seems like this is the reality of working for one of the metro Sheriff's departments.

If you want to get mandated right away at an academy twice the length of any of the regional academies and start working on the street, then the PD is the way to go.

Both departments have good reputations, and the starting pay for the PD is about as competitive as anywhere else. I don't know much about the SO's pay scale. I would imagine OT is available with the PD, as are extra jobs once you are POST certified.

Comment

[U]Go to the police department.[/[U]