Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Work and School

-----------
    Last edited by alienbow; 04-18-2008, 05:44 AM.
    www.amyandwandasrants.blogspot.com

Originally posted by alienbow View Post
    I just wanted to find out if anyone else is working and going to school? I'm doing this right now and I have to say it is difficult. It's hard to keep up with work and I have to get extensions all the time now.

I only have twelve classes left to finish to get my Bachelor's and it is hard.
    I worked full time as a police officer and went to school for the second half of my BA, and for all of grad school thus far. It is difficult. For undergrad, I would take three classes a semester in the fall and spring. Then in the summer I would take one maymester, one through term, and one 1st split session, and one 2nd split session class. I could effectively take 10 classes a year. For grad school I always take two classes a semester. While it is more reading and papers, it is far less studying than undergrad.

You just have to learn how to manage your time effectively. I bring all my books to work, and when we are slow I find a spot to read, proof read a paper, or make a quick post to a discussion thread. I guess the freedom is the greatest perk of patrol. Procrastination is what will kill you though. Putting off papers or study till an off day just before a due date never works out. It seems like something always comes up. I spent almost five years fine tuning the balancing act. As long as I am getting decent evaluations at work, and B's in school I'm happpy. I'm confident that it will all pay off in the long run.
    Last edited by miked6; 02-19-2008, 06:20 PM.
    "Would I ever leave this company? Look, I'm all about loyalty. In fact, I feel like part of what I'm being paid for here is my loyalty. But if there were somewhere else that valued loyalty more highly, I'm going wherever they value loyalty the most. " --Dwight K Schrute (The Office)

Comment