300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Metro ATL Sheriff Departments

Hello everyone, this is my official first post.

I am in search of starting my LE career, pondering different paths to take. One of them is obtaining a position of Detention Officer with promise of transferring to Patrol. I am new to the state of Georgia and currently reside in Barrow County, what advice would you all have to give.

Thank’s…..

Originally posted by 81George View Post
    Hello everyone, this is my official first post.

I am in search of starting my LE career, pondering different paths to take. One of them is obtaining a position of Detention Officer with promise of transferring to Patrol. I am new to the state of Georgia and currently reside in Barrow County, what advice would you all have to give.

Thank’s…..
    Barrow County SO is a good agency who just received some awards for traffic and DUI enforcement. Forsyth County and Gwinnett County are good agencies as well. I'm not familiar enough with Fulton or DeKalb to say one way or the other.

I don't want to talk bad about Hall County, but I'd advise against them. There are a lot of individuals there that are great deputies, but the agency as a whole is lacking.
    There once was a man who said: "Though,
    it seems that I know that I know,
    what I'd like to see is the I that knows me,
    when I know that I know that I know."

- Alan Watts

Comment

Fulton County just announcedn that they will be hiring 531 deputies for the detention and road patrol.....and got approved for a $100 million dollar budget

Comment

http://m.bizjournals.com/atlanta/mor...le.html?r=full

Comment

DeKalb SO doesn't do patrol, just jail, warrants, court, transports, etc. but I've heard of several people working for the SO then switching to the PD and only having to do paperwork to make it happen.
          Originally posted by Ceridwen
          Just one would be stingy of me, I'd have to get two. For the children.