300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interview with the Cobb County Sheriff

In the next week or so I will have a interview with the Cobb county sheriff and his top 4. Has anyone been through this interview that could give a few pointers? I recently discharged from the Marine Corps with 8 years of service and operated a detention facility in Iraq doing 1 of my many deployments overseas so I am confident in my skills and experience. Would greatly appreciate all and any feedback, thanks.

I have no experience with the Cobb SO process, but I would guess that most interviews from LE agencies are pretty similar. Being former military also, my interviews felt very much like a promotion board or Soldier of the Year type board.

I would be prepared for questions like - Why Cobb SO? Why law enforcement? What makes you more qualified than some of the other candidates? Tell us about a time when you had to resolve a conflict. Tell us about a time when you showed extraordinary leadership/went above and beyond/made an important decision with limited guidance from superiors.

Before I interviewed I googled "common questions for law enforcement interviews," and found many pages of frequently asked questions. I interviewed at 2 different places and was surprised to find that many of the questions I found online were in my interviews. I hate to feel unprepared so I had planned responses for many of the questions I thought I would see.

Maybe someone else will have specific Cobb SO information for you. These are from my limited LE interviewing experiences-2 interviews, 2 offers.

Comment

I just went thru two command interviews with two departments locally who are hiring and in the need of POST certified officers. The Richmond County Sheriffs Office and The Columbia County Sheriffs Office. Both have their pros and cons but I can tell you what the call volume at Richmond County i.e. Augusta, GA is amazing. I finish the Post academy in 15 days.

Comment