300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about Cobb/Gwinnette County Police Department

I'm currently a county cop in Maryland between Baltimore and DC and looking to the Atlanta Metro Area. I'm wondering what the difference between the two different counties. I'm a county officer now and enjoy working in a comparable environment.

My questions are:
    What are the pensions programs like?
    How many years are you required to work before you can retire?
    Are you assigned a PVSP (Take home car)
    What is the work schedule for patrol?
    Is pay comparable to the area?

I can help with a few... both are great departments, by the way.

Here is Cobb's website (if you haven't already been there).. they have retirement info on there.. http://police.cobbcountyga.gov/join.htm

Cobb does not give take homes to patrol. They work 8 hours shifts 5 days a week.

Gwinnett does offer take home cars with restrictions... that's about all I know..

Good luck in whatever you decide

Comment

Originally posted by HOCO-5-0 View Post
      I'm currently a county cop in Maryland between Baltimore and DC and looking to the Atlanta Metro Area. I'm wondering what the difference between the two different counties. I'm a county officer now and enjoy working in a comparable environment.

My questions are:
      What are the pensions programs like?
      How many years are you required to work before you can retire?
      Are you assigned a PVSP (Take home car)
      What is the work schedule for patrol?
      Is pay comparable to the area?
      Gwinnett no longer had a pension program, it's all done with 401 based savings.
      Retirement, I believe, is 65 yoa.
      Gwinnett is assigned take home vehicles that can be taken up to 15 miles out of the county.
      Gwinnett is on a set 6 on 3 off schedule
      The pay in the area is comparable. You're looking at around late 30's to early 40's starting around the Metro area.