Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Athens Departments

So as a graduate of UGA I have been dabbling in gettin a job in Athens but:

I've heard a ton of bad stuff. And this weekend has finally sealed the deal.

On my way to the stadium - saw a UGA Cop in the crosswalk. I stopped him and told him about my intentions with the POST Acad. etc. etc. Asked him about LE in Athens. He took off his shades, looked me square in the eyes and said: "No joke, stay out of Athens and stay as far away from Clarke County as possible. You will hate it, because you can't do your job."

That affirmation along with several from ACCPD's = No Clarke or Athens for me.

I hope this is helpful for those unsure from of all the stories of crap morale and high turnover. This is not bashing/flaming. UGAPD was a good presence while I was a student, they were more helpful than anything.

But if you want to be in the area:

OCONEE COUNTY SO is hiring. Gotta have your POST though.
    Last edited by DJKAHUNA; 10-05-2009, 12:01 PM. Reason: Im a Ruh-tard
    Graduate of Athens Regional Police Academy - 235th BLETC

betanosave.
    Last edited by ryker; 01-13-2010, 08:21 AM.
    Any views or opinions presented by this prenomen are solely those of a burlesque author and do not necessarily represent those of a LEA or caementum couturier.

nom de plume

This is the internet- take all information with a grain of salt. Such could be valid and true or could be typed just for playing devils advocate.

Comment

hey i think we spoke before.... former ACCPD here. it's not that athens is that bad, it's that it's a lot better in other places.

if you're a young, single dude, open your eyes to the southeast man. before i met my wife i was considering a number of departments outside of GA....assuming you're cool with being away from the folks, etc.