300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diabetes

I'am a 34yr male,i have both my eyes that seems to work very we'll. i have all ten of my fingers, and all ten of my toes that seems to work very we'll and, all my teeth that seems to be there when i smile. i passed all of my steps to land a job with a police dept got to the last step in the hiring stage the physical passed it but the doctor failed on the physical because of my diabetes, which is in control but he voice his concern to the dept that in the long run. i would cost the ins money company and the dept man hours because of my diabetes.have anybody heard of this if so please reply but thats what happen when you keep ur integirty. hey but remember cheaters never win.

Diabetes Here

I've been working for 5 years with a state agency and I diabetes. I'm 33 and mine is well under control with diet, and medication. Umm, it sounds like they discriminated against you. Look into it..

Comment

I don't know how it works there in FL, but here in NY if you're disqualified for any reason you can appeal it, one of my friends was disqualified because he failed the hearing test and he appealed their decision and got all the test done by a certified Audiologists and passed all the test given by the Audiologists and got a letter from the Audiologists and submitted the letter from the Audiologists saying the his hearing won't affect his ability to preform the job of a LE and submitted all the test and than got accepted.
      "Why you harassing me?"

Comment

You need to contact an employment discrimination attorney ASAP.

Comment

Even though it is a pre-existing condition, if your diabetes is made worse by the job (which it can be - odd hours, eating on the run, job related stress, sudden exertion without warm-up) the department can be liable under workers comp laws for lifetime treatment costs and to compensate you for your loss in value to the job market - at least in California.