MOST E-MAILED
    (last 24 hours)
    1. 30-foot whale shark found dead in ocean off Boca Raton Inlet
    2. Couple abducted at gunpoint from Disney World parking lot
    3. What the property tax talk means to you
    4. Terry Coburn swims near the dead whale shark
    5. A little money, lots of time can make teen a millionaire
    See the complete list ...

Click here to subscribe today to the Sun-Sentinel or call 1-877-READ-SUN.

LocalLinks

I read Brian Haas' recent story on pay and staffing issues of the Fort Lauderdale Police Department, and I must say I found it amusing.

Allow me to provide some approximate numbers, and just maybe their officers won't feel so bad. I am an 18-year veteran of the Florida Highway Patrol and a 46-year native of Fort Lauderdale. I would like to offer some comparisons of our two very different departments. Mr. Haas' story reflects that a 10-year FLPD officer can expect a salary of $63,897.

Well, a 10-year FHP trooper is in the area of $43,000, so their billboard indicating they are the lowest-paid police officers in the county is inaccurate. I will be eligible to retire in seven years with 25-plus years of service, and it is likely I will never see a figure like $63,897.

Also, the difference in salaries between a three-year trooper and a 19-year trooper might be $5,000 or less. When the officers at FLPD say they have a morale issue, just try to imagine what our morale is like. Are you kidding me! Now, how about staffing. We are staffing three shifts to cover the entire area of Broward County with 30 troopers, that's approximately one trooper for every 58,000 citizens and growing. Our population and number of vehicles being driven continue to grow rapidly.