Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NY To FL

Looking to make the move from local PD in
    Buffalo area to South Florida - I’ve been looking into Ft lauderdale PD and Boca Raton - does anyone have any insight on these departments? What are the health benefits like? Has anyone from NY made the jump before and how difficult is it to find decent housing and is it affordable? Any insight at all would help

Yeah, I just made the jump. The agency in South FL I applied to, paid for my EOT training, my State Exam that certifies you, my academy waiver, everything. I was a Police Officer with 4 years LEO in Upstate NY. They did everything in one week for me. Benefits are great, the pay is decent adn the OT is plentiful. A little lower than NY though but the weather and non-liberal BS is worth it.

Comment

How many trips did you make down there before you started EOT? and how difficult was it to find somewhere to live? I have my dog so I was trying to steer away from jumping into an apartment but it seems like houses are pretty expensive down there, which I’m sure taxes are different so it may offset a bit? Trust me escaping liberal NY and the weather is weighing heavily on this haha, climate for policing up here doesn’t seem to be getting any better

Comment

Originally posted by Aylerda View Post
        How many trips did you make down there before you started EOT? and how difficult was it to find somewhere to live? I have my dog so I was trying to steer away from jumping into an apartment but it seems like houses are pretty expensive down there, which I’m sure taxes are different so it may offset a bit? Trust me escaping liberal NY and the weather is weighing heavily on this haha, climate for policing up here doesn’t seem to be getting any better