300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FWC September 2019 Closing Date Discussion

Thread for anyone who is applying for the academy in the September 14, 2019 cutoff.

I went through the process last year and made it as far as the panel interview, giving it another shot this year. I just submitted my People First State of Florida application; risky bet on my part, but I'm assuming we receive information about the supplemental application after passing the PAT like last year?

That is my understanding as well. My second time to apply as well. I went to the academy in March 2018 and failed firearms qualification in late May. I'm going to be very prepared this time.

Comment

Hi! This is my first time applying. I’m working on getting in shape for the PAT. Is there anyone in Volusia County that wants to train with me? Are there any training or practice facilities or groups? I have watched the video and acquired most of what I need to practice, but I’d like to workout with someone or run a real course.

Comment

• Monotonous1
        Monotonous1 commented
        Editing a comment
        I can tell you now, work primarily on cardio. If you aren't conditioned already, you'll get pretty winded because a lot of the obstacles are simulate some explosive movement.

• coonhound05
        coonhound05 commented
        Editing a comment
        Yeah, as Monotonous1 said, it ultimately comes down to your cardio. Hardest part is the step climbing portion into the dummy drag, and while you should have some quad/hamstring strength for the dummy drag, you're going to be breathing really hard coming off the steps and you'll need to recover quickly. You can always alternate pulling the dummy as you walk forward (working your quads more) and pulling it as you backpedal (working your hamstrings more).