300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active Military to Police Officer

I've looked and came up with negative results. I am sure this has something to do with poor searching skills. Either way I hope you guys and gals can help. I am currently an Active duty Soldier in the Army's Criminal Investigation Command, my ETS is May of 2016 with about 2 months of leave before that. Due to my MOS I have a little bit of flexibility when it comes to taking some time off for things like interviews and testing.

My question is: How long in advance would you guys recommend I start applying at departments? I see from other posts that it can and does take anywhere from 6 months to a year and a half depending. I would like to try and have a job secured prior to my ETS date so I would be able start the academy right away.

I am looking to move to the Orange County area if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance for the replies.
    And maybe remind the few, if ill of us they speak, that we are all that stands between the monsters and the weak.

Well it depends on certain departments. A majority of departments want you already certified (graduated the academy and passed the state exam) before applying to them. Reason for that is because some departments are on a budget freeze and they don't have the funds to send individuals to the academy and pay them a salary. Now, there are some departments who actually will sponsor you and send you to the academy, Orange County Sheriffs Office being one of them.

I am not familiar with the Equivalency of Training (EOT) but depending on your MOS and time in service, you may not have to go through the academy, only a "refresher course" of high liability and Defensive Tactics. This course i believe is about a month long and after taking the course you will go straight to taking the State Exam.