300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for some insight regarding different Florida Departments

I currently work as an LEO in Georgia but I would like to relocate to Florida. I'm currently interested in departments along or near the Gulf Coast from Clearwater down to Sarasota area. If officers with departments in that area could provide info regarding some of the things I'm going to list, I would appreciate it. I've read a lot of info from the city websites, but I'm looking for the "real" story behind some of the things I'm going to list.

Pay
    Retirement
    Department Moral
    Workload (Is it generally "slow" or is every shift balls to the wall busy)
    Shifts (Four 10s? 12 hour? 8 hour?)
    Court time and benefits from court
    Take home car program (Currently have one where I work and was told 2 years and you get a car and there are officers with 4 years experience without cars)
    Opportunities to advance beyond patrol (I don't think that you should just get into a job like detective after working just a year on the street, you need to put in your time, but how quickly do you have the option to put in for a specialty unit)
    Areas surrounding where you work (can you live close to where you work without being in a crap area or should you live farther way)

If you could PM me and let me know what department you work for, and try to answer my questions, I would greatly appreciate it. Or you could just answer on the thread as well in case others have the same questions and can read this thread at a later time.
    Oh, I have not been with my department very long, as I'm still actually on probation. Most departments I've talked to require that I work 2 years sworn to bypass their degree requirements. I have had a few departments inform me that they will accept my prior 6 and a half years of Corrections experience.