300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What next? Looking for advice.

Alright, I'm pretty disappointed of how things are going for me. I have a degree, speak a second language, no criminal history, etc. I applied to 5 departments in south florida in April for non-certified as I have not gone through the academy. I have interviewed with two of them and still waiting on the other three. I know the process is long, but is this long normal? What else can I do? Should I self sponsor through an academy? Should I wait? Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Man, competition is very fierce nowadays. I applied to 5 departments, and only now after a year and half, I'm being sponsored through the academy. You should be glad that you already had 2 interviews after just a few months from application. Just relax, it takes time. Best advice that I ever received...Forget about it. Live your life like you never applied and don't stress about it.

Comment

Competition is very tough, especially in South Florida since everybody would love to work down here. Mostly all agencies are tightening up because of budget reasons, they would rather hire someone who already spent 7 grand on the academy so they don't have too, plus a salary. If you could put yourself through the academy id recommend it, it would make you a better candidate, if not, patience is key when apply non-cert.

Comment

Originally posted by Mateudn View Post
        Man, competition is very fierce nowadays. I applied to 5 departments, and only now after a year and half, I'm being sponsored through the academy. You should be glad that you already had 2 interviews after just a few months from application. Just relax, it takes time. Best advice that I ever received...Forget about it. Live your life like you never applied and don't stress about it.
        Thanks for the reply. So there is hope. Lol. I'll just try to keep it out of mind.

Comment